GF in jail

iuytrede

Today my GF called me (I am not in Thailand right now) and told me she was arrested for shoplifting. I have no knowledge about the Thai police and judicial system. Can anybody tell me if her story makes sense/could be true or if it sounds like an excuse to make me send money?

She says she was drunk friday night and shoplifted 3 bottles of perfume (value 1400 B) at Carrefourto show off to her mom and sister. She got caught and spent one night at the police station and 2 nights in jail. The police took her money, but she managed to give most of it (and her mobile) to a friend who works in Carrefour. The police wanted 120,000 B which she didn't have so her case was sent to a court. Today a son of her uncle, a politician, brought her out of jail (I have no idea how important this uncle really is nor do I know how close he is to her family). Tomorrow she has "to go to write signature at sanamlung".Next week she will get her sentence.She is afraid she has to go to jail even her family tells her not to be afraid, her uncle and his lawyer will help.

She asks me to send 20,000-30,000 B to pay for Carrefour and the lawyer and whoever, because her family does not want to "throw all our problems at my uncle".

How does it sound?

PS she tried twice - unsuccessfully - to make me "borrow" similar amounts to her family because supposedly her family owes money to other people and their creditors were about to have her parents arrested. I never payed up and nobody ever got arrested.

So I am a little bit suspicious here.

• Replies 53
  • Created
  • Last Reply